Maggie: The Mother to My Ted

 

 

 

 

“A girl should be two things: classy and fabulous.” 
― Coco Chanel

ImageI haven’t written a post in a little bit because this week was pretty crazy and I was out of town with friends the past weekend so time was not something I had to work on this post. So today is going to be a featured real life princess who brings me such joy and I am so blessed to have in my life: my beautiful, wonderful friend Maggie, who I started to talk to over tumblr almost a year ago if I am remembering correctly (time has gone by so fast since I met her, I can’t say with 100% certainty!)

I started to talk to Maggie through a mutual old friend about our favorite characters on Once Upon A Time, most significantly August W. Booth and Emma Swan. Before I ever started to talk to her though, I was in awe of her. She was one of the people I would always see on my dash, whether it was someone reblogging her flawless edits or raving about her wonderfully written fanfics. I remember following her and thinking how cool she was as a person in general not just in terms of our shared interests. She was like one of those people you see across a convention and you love their cosplay so much but aren’t brave enough to just walk up and introduce yourself and take a picture of their outfit to show you’re friends how awesome it was when you tell them about your weekend. One day, we just ended up talking (in what I can only call a moment of utter abandonment of my fears of annoying her) and I firmly believe that if I had kept to myself, I would have missed out on a wonderful friendship.

Maggie is one of the sweetest and hard working individuals I have ever had the chance to talk to. She works so hard at a job that so many people now days would give up easily or would look down on because they believe it to be easier than it is. She gets a lot more blame than she deserves in situations than what is actually the customer’s ignorance or weak policies. She continues to work hard even when she feels defeated and I can’t help but admire her even more when she admits to having a hard time but continues to go on. She is so strong because she continues to keep going and working hard. Sometimes I feel defeated so I give up on myself. But Maggie, she inspires me to keep going. She reminds me that it’s okay to feel defeated as long as you don’t let yourself give up because only when you give up are you really defeated and when you give up on yourself, that is the worst kind of defeat.

Maggie is so pretty (shh don’t let her tell you otherwise). She is one of the nicest people I have ever met. She’s always there for me to vent at, gush over mutual loves, and to listen to whatever I need or want to say, whether or not she agrees with me. She’s so dependable as a friend and always cares about what I have to say even if I don’t always say it nicely or say it well. I am so beyond blessed to have her to talk to and I only hope I am there for her whenever she needs to talk. She respects others’ opinions so much but if someone’s opinions aim to hurt others, she isn’t afraid to stand up for her friends who aren’t as brave as she is.

She is so much more than someone I talk to online. She’s a very good friend that I am so thankful to have in my life in anyway. We may be states away and never met; but, she’s always there for me even more than friends who are close by. She cares about people even when they frustrate her and she stays with you when you need her most. I chose the quote above because Maggie is both classy and fabulous. She doesn’t participate and engage in drama unless it hurts someone she considers a friend. She’ll go out of her way to make sure you are okay and do what it takes to cheer you up no matter how big or small, whether its lending an ear or making you a beautiful gif set of one of your favorite couples. There aren’t a lot of people in this world (unfortunately) that fit Coco Chanel’s definition of a lady; but, if there is anyone who is a living embodiment of this idea, it is Maggie.

I owe Maggie so much for giving me not only a friend to talk to but an inspiration. She keeps going even when she has a hard time. She’s showing me how to keep going even when I feel like I won’t ever reach whatever standards I set for myself. I wish I was more talented, that I could make her something to tell her how much I appreciate what she does for me, for being my friend. All I can do is write about how amazing she is. I can’t even think of words to truly honor how much I love and adore Maggie. There was a quote in How I Met Your Mother about meeting people who are lifelong treasures and I know it was supposed to be romantic; but, I think that there are people, friends who come into your life for so many reasons, who become gems that sparkle and show you directions that you can take, lead you to being the person who wish you could be. I think Maggie is one of the treasures who I can only hope is in my life for a long time to come, for the rest if I am really truly lucky. So that’s why I called her the Mother to my Ted because she’s showing me how to be stronger and to keep going when the world frustrates me, when I feel like giving up.

If you guys have tumblr, I highly recommend following Maggie at http://emilyykinney.tumblr.com/. Believe me when I say, when you hit that follow button, you’ll find the diamond in the rough you have been looking to call a hero, a friend.

3 thoughts on “Maggie: The Mother to My Ted

  1. It was hard for me to find your website in google search results.
    I found it on 19 place, you have to build a lot of quality backlinks , it
    will help you to increase traffic. I know how to help you,
    just type in google – k2 seo tricks

  2. I read a lot of interesting articles here. Probably you spend a lot of time writing, i know how to save you a lot of work, there is an online
    tool that creates unique, SEO friendly posts in minutes, just type in google – k2seotips
    unlimited content

  3. Hi ladywithalionheart.com admin, i see you need some fresh posts. Daily updates will rank your page in google higher, content is king nowadays. There is must have tool for every content writer, just search in google for:
    Ightsero’s Essential Tool

Leave a Reply

